diy · essential oils

DIY Essential Oil Deodorant 

I finally have my chance! Eli ran out of Old Spice and has been using “natural” deodorant that doesn’t work. I recently researched all natural deodorants and they actually have some pretty unhealthy ingredients themselves 😫 so, tonight I made some deodorant. I found many different recipes and decided to make one with ingredients I already have at home. It will probably take a few tries to make a blend that works perfectly for him, so keep that in mind for yourself if you try this. I also found a recipe on Pinterest for sensitive skin which I’d eventually like to give a try since we both struggle with that. 
Here’s the recipe I used:

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (don’t melt)
  • 1/4 cup arrowroot or corn starch (I used this)
  •  1/6 cup baking soda (use less if you have sensitive skin)
  •  5 drops Lavender Essential Oil
  •  5 drops Peace & Calming Essential Oil
  • 5 drops Frankincense Essential Oil

I chose to use a lot of essential oil to hopefully counteract the issues that baking soda causes for sensitive skin. All of these essential oils are gentle and calming on skin. You can choose any scent you want. Baking soda is important because it acts as the anti-perspirant. When I finished mixing all of the ingredients, I put my portion in the container and then added a bit more baking soda to Eli’s. He really wants to fight off the “man stink” and if this works, I can get him to choose this over the unhealthy stuff. 

After I make our DIY deodorant a few times, I’ll share my honest opinion with y’all. I really hope to eventually try the sensitive skin blend I found. If I do, I’ll share that too!
UPDATE: Eli is shocked, but this deodorant has totally been working for the both of us! We haven’t had any issues with the baking soda and it has worked great against sweat and smell 🙌🏼

2 thoughts on “DIY Essential Oil Deodorant 

    1. You’re welcome! If you add more baking soda and cornstarch I think it would work in a tube. I also found a recipe on Pinterest for sensitive skin that has shea butter in it with some Beeswax that solidifies and works in a tube. If you go that route, just leave the baking soda and cornstarch amounts the same. And add in the same amount of shea and Beeswax. Play around with the consistency you want. The recipe I made is softer in consistency and is best when applied with your fingers. It melts some as you rub it in. Sorry this is a long response! Hope it helps though 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

